Login

Register

History and Successes

Research Partners

The Canadian Forest Service

 

View your cart

Home > Value to Wood Program

The goal of Value to Wood program is to provide technological solutions directly to wood product manufacturers in all regions of Canada through research and communication. 

There are two components to the program: research and technology transfer. From 2002-2012, the federal government provided $35 Million for the Value to Wood Program to develop new and improved value-added wood products and manufacturing processes and transfer technology to small and medium sized wood manufacturers.

The Research component addresses the knowledge and technology needs of Canada’s value-added wood sector by bringing together specialists from leading wood research organizations across the country: FPInnovations, the University of British Columbia, the University of Toronto, Laval University and the University of New Brunswick.

The Technology Transfer component provides access to key resource and market information and accelerates the implementation of new manufacturing processes and the development of value-added wood products. FPInnovations Industry Advisors are located across the country to offer direct assistance to all types of value-added

In response to the constrained fiscal environment, as of April 1, 2012, the research component of the Value to Wood program is no longer being funded by the federal government.  However, the federal government continues to support of the Value to Wood Technology Transfer component delivered by FPInnovations.  This includes the network of Industry Advisors, cost-shared with provinces and other regional development agencies.

Moreover, the federal government continues to support value-added word product research in universities and FPInnovations.  The federal government supports valued-added wood product research in Universities through the National Sciences and Engineering Research Council Forest Sector R&D Initiative, a $34 million investment to develop a higher value added forest sector. Similarly the federal government will continue supporting some aspects of  value-added research at FPInnovations through its funding contributions under the Transformative Technologies Program.

Throughout its history, Value to Wood has brought together industry and specialists from five leading wood research organisations across Canada This partnership has created lasting collaborations and networks which continue to enhance the development of new knowledge and technology in support of Canadian value-added wood product manufacturers.

Research Reports
Research reports can now be downloaded directly from the website - section Research and Results

Video
Lean Journey
New Videos

What's better - Prefabricated or Stick Framing?
more detail

R&D Summaries
more detail

Newsletter
more detail

Technology/Market Profiles
more detail

Consult our page for
the list of events

NEW on the site
WEBINARS

 

   
 
   
CONTACT USASK AN EXPERTREGISTERSITE MAPFRANÇAIS

Connecter

Inscription

Historique et réussites

Partenaires de recherche

Le Service canadien des forêts

 

Votre panier

Accueil > Programme Valeur au bois


Le but du programme Valeur au bois est de fournir des solutions techniques directement aux fabricants de produits du bois de toutes les régions du Canada grâce à la recherche et aux communications. 

Le programme comporte deux volets : la recherche et le transfert de technologie. De 2002 à 2012, le gouvernement fédéral a fourni 35 millions de dollars pour le programme Valeur au bois en vue de mettre au point des produits du bois et des procédés de fabrication à valeur ajoutée nouveaux ou améliorés, et de transférer la technologie aux petits et moyens fabricants de produits du bois.

Le volet recherche vise à combler les besoins du secteur du bois à valeur ajoutée en matière de connaissances et de technologie en réunissant des spécialistes des principaux organismes de recherche au pays : FPInnovations, l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, l’Université de Toronto, l’Université Laval, et l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Le volet transfert de technologie vise à fournir l’accès à des ressources clés et à de l’information sur les marchés, et à accélérer l’application de nouveaux procédés de fabrication ainsi que la mise au point de produits du bois à valeur ajoutée. Les conseillers industriels de FPInnovations sont répartis dans l’ensemble du pays pour offrir de l’aide directe à tous les types d’installations de fabrication de produits du bois à valeur ajoutée.
À la suite des contraintes du contexte fiscal, depuis le 1er avril 2012, le volet recherche du programme Valeur au bois n’est plus financé par le gouvernement fédéral. Cependant, le gouvernement fédéral continue à appuyer le volet transfert de technologie de Valeur au bois offert par FPInnovations. Ceci comprend le réseau de conseillers industriels qui est à frais partagés entre les provinces et d’autres organismes de développement régional.

En outre, le gouvernement fédéral continue à appuyer la recherche sur les produits de bois à valeur ajoutée dans les universités et chez FPInnovations. Le gouvernement fédéral appuie la recherche sur les produits de bois à valeur ajoutée dans les universités par l’entremise de l’initiative du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie en R et D dans le secteur forestier, un investissement de 34 millions de dollars pour améliorer la valeur ajoutée dans le secteur forestier. De même, le gouvernement fédéral continuera à appuyer certains aspects de la recherche sur la valeur ajoutée de FPInnovations par ses contributions financières dans le cadre du Programme des technologies transformatrices.

Depuis sa création, le programme Valeur au bois a réuni l’industrie et des spécialistes des cinq principaux organismes de recherche au pays. Ce partenariat a permis de créer des collaborations et des réseaux durables qui continuent d’accroître le développement de nouvelles connaissances et de technologies pour appuyer la compétitivité du secteur canadien des produits du bois à valeur ajoutée.

Rapport de recherche
Nos rapports de recherche sont maintenant téléchargeables en ligne à partir de la section Recherche et résultats

Video
What's better - Prefabricated or Stick Framing? (anglais seulement)
plus de détails

Cartes technologiques - résumés
plus de détails
R-D résumés
plus de détails
Bulletin d'information
plus de détails
Profil technologique
plus de détails
Consultez la
liste des événements

NOUVEAU sur le site
WÉBINAIRES


 

 

   
 
   
CONTACTEZ-NOUSADRESSEZ-VOUS AUX SPÉCIALISTESINSCRIPTIONPLAN DU SITEENGLISH